Nigeria Football Federation's (thenff)  Official Website



The Executive Committee of Nigeria Football Federation held a meeting at the Eho Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos on Monday, 19th February 2018 to deliberate on important issues in Nigerian Football and resolved as follows:


1.    Executive Committee observed a one –minute silence in honour of Kano Pillars FC player, Chinedu Udoji, who died in an automobile accident in Kano on the night of Sunday, 18th February 2018, and prayed that the Almighty God will grant him rest and also grant his loved ones the fortitude to bear the loss.


2.    Board expressed deep appreciation to His Excellency, President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, the Federal Government as a body and the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports for the extensive support and encouragement that saw the Super Eagles B accomplish its best –ever performance at the 5th African Nations Championship, Morocco 2018.


3.    Committee praised the Players and Officials of the Super Eagles B for approaching the 5th African Nations Championship with patriotic fervour and uncommon yearning for laurels, and contended that the team’s runner –up place in Morocco was well –deserved. It also hailed the passion and commitment of Members of the Executive Committee who were with the team in Morocco and travelled long hours by road from one city to another to support and encourage the team.


4.    The Committee mandated the Technical and Development and Strategic Studies Committees to meet with the President and General Secretary to assure continuous monitoring and diligent implementation of the Federation’s publicized Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup Plan.


5.    The Board noted the enthusiasm and good spirit of new Head Coach of the Super Falcons, Mr. Thomas Dennerby, by way of his program so far and resolved that the Board and the Secretariat must give him full support and encouragement to succeed in building the Falcons into a formidable squad capable of challenging for laurels not only at continental level but also at global championships.


6.    Committee praised the concept and implementation of the inaugural edition of the AITEO-NFF Football Awards, declaring that the Organizing Committee did a marvelous job considering it is a first attempt and can only get better. It heaped encomiums on the excellent roles played by AITEO as Sponsor and Lagos as Host City of the Awards.


7.    The Executive Committee expressed delight with Lagos, Nigeria being one of the host cities of the 12 FIFA Executive Football Summits of November 2017 and March 2018. It commended, strongly, the work of the NFF President and Vice Presidents in projecting and promoting Nigerian Football both on the field and off it, and noted the continued appointments of Nigerians into prominent positions in CAF and FIFA, the latest being the appointments of A. U. Mustapha (SAN) as President of the CAF Appeal Board and Samson Adamu as CAF Director of Competitions.


8.    Board approved the re-calibration of the Nigeria National League (NNL) to a 20 –teams format in the Northern and Southern Conferences respectively, as presented by the Independent Vice Chairman of the NNL, Alhaji Mohammed Nasir Saidu.


9.    The Executive Committee mandated its Committees on Finance, Strategic Studies and Marketing, Sponsorship and TV Rights to develop and agree on the level of regular financial support to be given to the Nigeria National League, Nigeria Women Football League and the Nigeria Nation-Wide League One until such a time that the three Leagues would achieve some form of financial well –being.     


IN ATTENDANCE: Amaju Melvin Pinnick (President); Seyi Akinwunmi (1st Vice President); Shehu Dikko (2nd Vice President); Ibrahim Musa Gusau (Member); Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande (Member); Yusuf Ahmed ‘Fresh’ (Member); Felix Anyansi-Agwu (Member); Sharif Rabiu Inuwa (Member); Babagana Kalli (Member); Musa Duhu (Member); Aisha Falode (Member); Mohammed Alkali (Member); Chidi Ofo Okenwa (Member); Mohammed Sanusi (Secretary).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *